The Free Press, Mankato, MN

Breaking news

February 8, 2013

WCHA ADs approve future playoff format



The new Big Ten hockey conference will have the Xcel Center next season and in 2016. The new National Collegiate Hockey Conference announced that it will hold its championship in Minneapolis’ Target Center.

The WCHA will be made up of the programs left behind by the formation of those two conferences — Minnesota State, Alaska Anchorage, Bemidji State, Michigan Tech, Northern Michigan, Lake Superior State, Ferris State, Bowling Green and Alaska (Fairbanks) — as well as Alabama Huntsville, which currently plays as an independent.

“I feel like we’ve got some momentum now,” Buisman said. “We added Huntsville (in January), we affirmed a 28-game schedule, our championship format is in a good place and we’re close to finalizing a contract with our championship venues. Every little bit feels like we’re moving in the right direction.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Breaking news