The Free Press, Mankato, MN


February 20, 2014

GMG names Volunteer of the Year recipients

MANKATO — Greater Mankato Growth, Visit Mankato and City Center Partnership announced their 2013 Volunteer of the Year award recipients. Jesse Schott, Joe DeLory and Malda Farnham were honored for their leadership through service or volunteerism as well as making a contribution to the betterment of the community’s quality of life, business environment and economic vitality.

GMG winner Schott serves as the chair for Kiwanis Holiday Lights Parade and Greater Mankato Young Professionals service committee and new member cmmittee. Schott also volunteers for the CityArt installation and removal, Back Pack Food Program and Rake the Town. Schott was recently named the 2014 Young Professionals president.

Visit Mankato winner DeLory has volunteered his time and bike to both the 5K and KidsK since the Mankato Marathon’s inception. DeLory puts his EMT training to use, coordinating and recruiting a team of doctors, nurses, medics and first responders on bicycles. He also volunteers as a course ride marshal for the River Ramble.

City Center Partnership winner Farnham singlehandedly started and managed the Adopt-a-Planter program. This project started four years ago when Farnham found 10 businesses on North Riverfront Drive that agreed to the installation of large floral planters in front of their establishments which they would maintain. The project was a success and has grown.

Award recipients will be honored at GMG's annual meeting from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. March 13 at the Centennial Student Union Ballroom at Minnesota State University.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local business news