The Free Press, Mankato, MN

June 23, 2013

Names and Notables

The Mankato Free Press

---- — Nursing Excellence winner

Minnesota State University, Mankato faculty member Nancyruth Leibold, an assistant professor in the university's School of Nursing, was recently named the 2013 Heartland/Midwest Nursing Excellence regional winner in the Education and Mentorship category.

As the Midwest regional winner, Leibold will progress to the national level as a candidate for the national 2013 Nursing Excellence Award in the Education and Mentorship category.

Professional engineer

Josh Pope, of the I&S Group, Inc., has successfully passed the Principals and Practice of Engineering Examination, therby offically designating him a Professional Engineer in the state of Minnesota.

Josh is a graduate of St. John's University and joined I&S in 2011.

Ney Nature Center honors

The Ney Environmental Education Foundation Board of Directors recently honored four individuals who exemplify the mission of the Ney Nature Center.

Arlys Graff of Le Sueur received the Volunteer-of-the-Year award.

Chuck Retka of Le Sueur received the Outstanding Friend award.

Joe Doherty of Le Sueur and James Weber of Le Center both won a President's award.

Minnesota Shorts Play Festival

Five local playwrights have won a spot in the Minnesota Shorts Play Festival, which will be September 5 & 6 at Mankato West High School.

This year the festival had a record 498 script submissions, and 14 different judges picked nine scripts from Minnesota playwrights and 9 from national playwrights.

The local winners include: Mankato -- Ester Hoffman for "The Bible According to Hertha;" North Mankato -- Mary Jost for "Invincible!," Ruth Furan for "Wiener Dog Worries" and Greg Abbott for "Scars;" Eagle Lake -- T.D. Barna for "On the Home Front."

Lafayette Charter School honor roll

The following students were named to the Lafayette Charter School A Honor Roll: Grade 3 -- Preston Wegner; Grade 4 -- Claire Wilfahrt; Grade 5 -- Kendra Lyimo, Emily Pena, Anna Stovall and Alexander Wyffels; Grade 6 -- Alexis Hacker.

The following students were named to the Lafayette Charter School B Honor Roll: Grade 4 -- Cole Hesse and Mya Isenberg; Grade 5 -- Brenna Barstad, Haylee Liebl, Joshua Liebl, Tyla Moldo and Conner Schiller; Grade 6 -- Morgan Brey; Grade 7 -- Jakob Pena and Alex Stovall; Grade 8 -- Alec Harder, Shilo Lorenz and Trevor Pagel.

Take Off Pounds Sensibly awards (two pics, no cutlines)

Take Off Pounds Sensibly, a weight loss support and nutrition education group, awarded three members with awards.

Joanna Starner and Marci Pearce received awards for their weight loss as members of TOPS.

Weight Recorder Glorie Kaderlik presented Marilyn Sieberg with a pin for Keeping Off Pounds Sensibly for 28 years.

Grand View University

The following students were named to the Grand View University President's List: Blue Earth -- Eliana Johnson.

Iowa State University

The following students have graduated from Iowa State University: Blue Earth -- Daniel Kent Murray and Bethany Ann Pecholt; Mankato -- Kiersten Laurie Lee; New Richland -- Jonathan Michael Kormann; St. Peter -- Shayne Michael Narjes; Winnebago -- Eirsten Elizabeth Johanson.

I&S Group announces new shareholders

I&S Group, Inc. is proud to announce five new shareholders: Andy Brandel, PE, Bill Goldy, Nick Ellenberger, PE, LEED AP, Tom Grafft and Joey Wendinger.

2013 Healthcare Scholarship

The following students have been awarded the Madelia Community Hospital Foundation scholarship: Autumn Johnson from Lake Crystal Welcome Memorial High School and Adam Cooling from Madelia High School.

They will receive a $500 scholarship after the successful completion of their first semester.

National Society of Collegiate Scholars

The National Society of Collegiate Scholars welcomes Stephen Richard Willaert of Mankato as a new member.

NSCS is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is the nation's only interdisciplinary honors organization for first-year and second-year college students. Membership is by invitation only, based on grade point average and class standing.

Boy in Blue Memorial Project receives grant

The Boy in Blue Memorial Project has received a grant in the amount of $10,000 from the Carl and Verna Schmidt Foundation.

This grant is to be used towards Phase One of the project which is the bottom pool base and infrastructure of the fountain.

Approximately $75,000 still needs to be raised to complete the entire project.

Bethany Lutheran College

The following students have been named to the Bethany Lutheran College Dean's List: Mankato -- Melissa Bergemann, Kayla Busch, Gena Chester, Marta Faugstad, Joshua Kloster, Kristian Marzolf, Ben Moldstad, Emily Mueller, Emily Rauchman, Kate Ruschmeyer, Joey Sehloff and Kjirstyn Smith.

Minnesota State Universityprograms honored

Two Minnesota State University, Mankato programs were honored by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system office during MnSCU's annual joint meeting of cheif academic and student affairs officers and college and university deans.

Minnesota State Mankato's "Mav Connections: An Academic and Student Affairs Safety Net for STruggling Students" was one of just two programs withing MnSCU to receive an Innovative Student Affairs Program Award.

The goal of Mav Connections is to identify students with difficulties and intervene well before students are at risk of academic failure or behavioral dismissal from the university.

Minnesota State Mankato's "Project Maverick" was one of just four programs within MnSCU to receive an Innovative Partnering and Collaboration Award.

Project Maverick is a collaborative effort between Minnesota State Mankato, Maverick Software Consulting and Thomson Reuters Corperation. Students work on real-world software development and software testing projects.

Mankato Area Foundation Scholarship recipients

The following student received the Ogden W. and Jane M. Confer Scholarship: Mankato -- Nusla Mohamed.

The following students received the Marlyn R. Heintz Scholarship: Mankato -- Nusla Mohamed, Breeta Oxnard and Sarah Peller.

The following students received the Jenny Schugel Memorial Scholarship: New Ulm -- Tyler Schmiesing; Lafayette -- Kristine Schnichels.

The following students received the Dustin Lemke Memorial Scholarship: Mankato -- Carolyn Osdoba and Robert Schultze.

Central Lakes College

The following students have graduated from Central Lakes College: Blue Earth -- Tyler Meyers; Mankato -- Justin Doyle and Christine Pickar; Mapleton -- Adam Annis; New Ulm -- Hayley Hornick; North Mankato -- Eric Rauchman.

Minnesota State College

The following student has been named to the Minnesota State College - Southeast Technical President's List: Mapleton -- Kenneth Warneke.

Carthage College

The following students have been named to the Carthage College Dean's List: Le Sueur -- Cecilia Hernandez-Ruiz; Mankato -- Holly E Hanson; North Mankato -- Kailey Scheller.

Misfit Acres

Misfit Acres, Inc. proudly announces it is the recipient of a generous $2,000 grant from the ASPCA. These funds are dedicated to new fencing for the rescued and sanctuary horses of Misfit Acres, Inc.

The ASPCA works diligently to help animals in need as well as the rescues that care for them.

Alexandria Technical & Community College

The following students have graduated form Alexandria Technical & Community College: Mankato -- Michael Clobes and Kenneth Ritter.