The Free Press, Mankato, MN


June 23, 2013

Names and Notables


Boy in Blue Memorial Project receives grant

The Boy in Blue Memorial Project has received a grant in the amount of $10,000 from the Carl and Verna Schmidt Foundation.

This grant is to be used towards Phase One of the project which is the bottom pool base and infrastructure of the fountain.

Approximately $75,000 still needs to be raised to complete the entire project.

Bethany Lutheran College

The following students have been named to the Bethany Lutheran College Dean's List: Mankato -- Melissa Bergemann, Kayla Busch, Gena Chester, Marta Faugstad, Joshua Kloster, Kristian Marzolf, Ben Moldstad, Emily Mueller, Emily Rauchman, Kate Ruschmeyer, Joey Sehloff and Kjirstyn Smith.

Minnesota State Universityprograms honored

Two Minnesota State University, Mankato programs were honored by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system office during MnSCU's annual joint meeting of cheif academic and student affairs officers and college and university deans.

Minnesota State Mankato's "Mav Connections: An Academic and Student Affairs Safety Net for STruggling Students" was one of just two programs withing MnSCU to receive an Innovative Student Affairs Program Award.

The goal of Mav Connections is to identify students with difficulties and intervene well before students are at risk of academic failure or behavioral dismissal from the university.

Minnesota State Mankato's "Project Maverick" was one of just four programs within MnSCU to receive an Innovative Partnering and Collaboration Award.

Project Maverick is a collaborative effort between Minnesota State Mankato, Maverick Software Consulting and Thomson Reuters Corperation. Students work on real-world software development and software testing projects.

Mankato Area Foundation Scholarship recipients

The following student received the Ogden W. and Jane M. Confer Scholarship: Mankato -- Nusla Mohamed.

The following students received the Marlyn R. Heintz Scholarship: Mankato -- Nusla Mohamed, Breeta Oxnard and Sarah Peller.

The following students received the Jenny Schugel Memorial Scholarship: New Ulm -- Tyler Schmiesing; Lafayette -- Kristine Schnichels.

Text Only | Photo Reprints