The Free Press, Mankato, MN


July 21, 2013

Names and Notables

MSU Greek Community

The Greek Community at Minnesota State University added two fraternities, one of which received a charter from its international organization this past semester.

In addition, for the spring 2013 semester, fraternity men achieved an overall 2.88 GPA, which surpassed the all-men's GPA of 2.86; and the sorority women achieved a 3.22 GPA, which surpassed the all-women's GPA of 3.19. Collectively, the Maverick Greeks attained a 3.05 GPA, exceeding the all-University GPA of 3.02.

South Central College's Faribault Campus Foundation

The South Central College's Faribault Campus Foundation awarded $100,000 in scholarships to 120 freshman and sophomore students during the college's annual Scholarships Award Ceremony on Monday, April 29, 2013. A list of the South Central College students from the greater Mankato Area who received scholarships:

Justina David, community social service, Gertrude A. Beaupre Mmorial; Anne Flicek, pre-nursing, Hannah Lips Foundation; Taylor Olivo, associate in arts, Gertrude A. Beaupre Memorial; Kayla Polin, child development, Gertrude A. Beaupre Memorial; Kaitlyn Pumper, associate in arts, SCC Faculty & Staff; Amanda Ryan, business management, Gertrude A. Beaupre Memorial; Britney Sexton, associate in arts, HickoryTech; Ashley Simon, pre-nursing, Hannah Lips Foundation; Steven Simon, computer integrated machining, Minnesota Precision Manufacturing Association Education; Jessica Davison, administrative assistant, John & Lucille Hoban Endowment; Suzanne Backhaus. health unit coordinator, E.F. Johnson Foundation; Laurie Ayers, medical assistant, Hannah Lips Foundation; Ashley Delaske, associate in arts, Xcel Energy.

Winona State University dean's list

Winona State University announces the dean's list for spring term 2013: Cleveland -- Rebecca Zimmerman; Eagle Lake -- Kylie Milbrandt; Good Thunder -- Jaclyn Bateman and Samantha Langworthy; Janesville -- Kayla Wolff; Kasota -- Ryan Miller; Lake Crystal -- Seth Lilly; Le Center -- Samantha Collins; Le Sueur -- Nicole Chilman, Maureen Savage and Megan Zeiher; Mankato -- Stephanie Adams, Evy Claussen, Jessica Goettl, Amanda Larson, Emily Miller, Kristin Seifert, Shelby Seifert, Miranda Sellner and Madalyn Ziegler; Mapleton -- Michaela Hislop; New Ulm -- Janelle Curry, Sarah Furth, Jill Gareis and Amanda Hoffman; North Mankato -- Cara Flom, Michael Maurer, Elise Morrison and Amanda Olson; St. Peter -- Mary Soderlund; Vernon Center -- Tara Roelofs; Waseca -- Emily Anderson, Kaitlyn Jewison, Alicia Maas, Katelun Madigan, Mattea Meixner and Nathan Rongstad; Wells -- Jamie Herman, Skylar Peterson and Brianna Shroeder; Winnebago -- Emily Malchow.

Text Only | Photo Reprints