The Free Press, Mankato, MN

Local News

November 12, 2013

MSU to honor 6 faculty members as 'Global Citizens'

MANKATO — Six Minnesota State University faculty members are being honored as “Global Citizens.”

The award recognizes faculty and staff who have made a major contribution to globalization efforts at the university. This year’s honorees include: David Cowan (Facilities Services), James Grabowska (World Languages & Cultures), Kathryn Grant (Student Health Services), Jasper Hunt (Experiential Education), Mandy Prorok (International Programs Office), and Gregory Wilkins (Student Activities).

During the ceremony, Grabowska will share information on the agreement that was recently signed with Cuenca University in Ecuador. Scott Fee, interim associate dean in the College of Science, Engineering & Technology, will describe an innovative internship opportunity (the Bureau 507 concept) developed with HAN University (Netherlands), as well as a study abroad partnership between MSU and South Central College that involved a faculty-led trip to South Africa in the summer of 2013.

MSU’s Global Citizen Award ceremony is held each fall during Diversity & International Education Week.

A reception and Global Citizen Award Ceremony will be held Wednesday in the Centennial Student Union’s Heritage Room, but it is not open to the public. MSU President Richard Davenport is presenting the awards.

For more information on the award recipients, visit

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News