The Free Press, Mankato, MN

January 2, 2013

Mankato School Board’s Ann Hendricks named to All State

The Free Press

ST PETER — Mankato Area School Board Member Ann Hendricks has been named to the 2013 All State School Board, which is the Minnesota School Boards Association’s most prestigious award.

MSBA’s awards committee selects up to seven individual board members to the All State School Board each year. There are about 2,300 school board members in Minnesota.

Board members are nominated by superintendents, fellow board members, parents or community members for their outstanding contributions to public education.

Hendricks was one of six board members chosen for the award this year. Other winners include Kirby Ekstrom of North Branch; Charles Funk of Sebeka; Linda Johnson of Robbinsdale Area; Jeannette Kester of East Central; and Sherry Safratowich of Park Rapids.

Criteria for the award includes MSBA training, strong leadership; excellence in boardsmanship; communication skills; visionary thinking; demonstration of concern for students, staff and taxpayers; and support for the nomination from stakeholders.

MSBA, based in St. Peter,  is a private nonprofit organization that provides cost-saving programs, management support, board training, advocacy, research and referral for Minnesota’s public schools.

The award will be given during a luncheon  Jan. 17 at MSBA’s annual Leadership Conference at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

— Free Press Staff