The Free Press, Mankato, MN

Mankato Marathon

October 21, 2012

‘Home Town Boys’ keep marathon relay crown in Kato

MANKATO — Tim Hardy, Jim Kalina, Dan Kamphoff and Clint Counsellor called their marathon relay team the “Home Town Boys.” That was quite a fitting name as the four Mankatoans combined to win the relay portion of the marathon with a time of 2:52:45.

Kalina was the anchor leg on his foursome and he has competed in the Mankato Marathon in all three years and all were different races. He competed in the full marathon in 2010 and in the half marathon last year.

“They’re all different,” said Kalina. “It’s a different kind of challenge mentally and physically. This one was more about fun and being a part of it.”

“The Token Runners” comprised of Jeffrey Miller, Tom Roessler, Nolan Siemers, and Charles Johnson placed second in 3:07:07.

The third-place team consisted of all females and was named “26.2 Shades of Grey.” The quartet included Gretchen Sadaka, Becky Brudwick, Eliza Johnson and Jill Kroc an they finished in 3:09:31.

The fourth-place squad — ”Team Ollie” — was made up of Scott Bunner, Sean Finnie, Jason Villar and Charley Barniskie. They finished in 3:16.17.

Completing the top five was “DMC.” The foursome of Jim Jensen, Joe Jensen, Jason Thiesse and Drew Erickson came in at 3:23:29.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Mankato Marathon