The Free Press, Mankato, MN

News Ticker

Police Logs

June 25, 2013

Ask a Trooper: Can children ride in front seat of vehicles?

Minnesota does not have a law prohibiting this specifically for all children but the law does provide that restraints are to be used according to manufacturer’s  instructions.  For example,  manufacturer’s instructions prohibit rear facing seats in front seats, thus, it would be a violation.  Best practice is what is to be done for maximum safety; laws do not maintain the current safety standards, it would not be possible to keep up or define.
It is best practice to keep children in the back seat when under 14 years old, this is determined by pediatricians.  Waiting this long does have to do with size and fitting in to the adult belts properly but not entirely; ligament strength and bone density are considered as well, they have not yet matured and are still more vulnerable than adults.
A great point to make is that all of us are safer rider in the back seat, so it follows that we would put our most precious cargo there, I say until they go off to college!
Minnesota statute requires children to use a federally approved car seat or booster unless the child has met one of the two mile markers; 4 feet 9 inches or taller or 8 years of age. ALERT: many children are not ready to be out of a booster using this criteria. Best practice for graduating into the vehicle’s seatbelt system is below. Best practices are the same nationwide.
Here are the restraint steps a child should progress through as they age and grow:
• Rear-facing infant seats — For newborns to at least 1 year and 20 pounds, recommended up to age 2. It is safest to keep a child rear-facing as long as possible.
• Forward-facing toddler seats — For age 2 until around age 4. It’s preferable to keep children in a 5 point harness as long as possible.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Police Logs