The Free Press, Mankato, MN

February 1, 2014

Maple River wins East wrestling invitational

By Jim Rueda
The Mankato Free Press

---- — MANKATO — A year ago, Mankato West sophomore Charlie Dundas put together a pretty good season which ended with a fourth-place finish at the Section 2AA wrestling tournament. Now a junior, Dundas is looking to advance at least a little it further.

“I’d really like to make it to state,” said the 120-pounder. “That’s always the dream.”

Dundas took a step toward making that reality on Saturday, finishing second to Jackson Sweeney of Watertown-Mayer/Mayer Lutheran at the Mankato East Invitational. Sweeney figures to be the top seed at 120 pounds in the section tournament.

Dundas said he’s a better wrestler, both physically and mentally, than he was last season.

“My stance is better and my shots are better, too,” he said. I seem to be more effective with those this year.”

Dundas was one of two second-place finishers for the Scarlets Saturday. The other was Jake Russell at heavyweight.

Maple River won the eight-team meet with 228.5 points. The Eagles were followed by WM/ML (222), Mankato East (128), Austin (118), Marshall (114), West (110), Le Sueur-Henderson (79.5) and Eastridge (47).

Maple River came away from the meet with five individual champions.

They were Russell Caldwell at 138 pounds, Noah Greenfield at 145), Aaron Trio at 160, Casey Decker at 195 and Tyler Olson at 220. Lincoln Arndt (113) and Derek Moore (126)

Mankato East finished with two individual winners.

They were Nick Makovsky at 182 and Logan Swanson at 285.

Swanson had to take on crosstown rival Russell from West in the title bout and came through with a pin in 3:40.

Keanu Rodriguez finished second for the Cougars at 152 and teammate Ben Winans did the same at 220.

Le Sueur-Henderson’s only champion was Austin Anderly at 113 pounds. The No. 1-ranked wrestler in Class A pinned his way through the tournament.

Among the area’s third-place finishers on Saturday were Maple River’s Prince Bade (132) and Lukas Trio (170); Mankato East’s Michael Miller (138); Mankato West’s Zachary Jakes (195); and Le Sueur-Henderson’s Joe Abrahamson (285).