The Free Press, Mankato, MN


November 7, 2013

Weber heads Big 9 football awards

MANKATO — Mankato West senior linebacker Isaac Weber has been named the Big Nine Conference's defensive player of the year, as league awards were announced Wednesday.

Joining Weber on the all-conference list were teammates Will Claussen, Jake Russell, Cory Johnson, Ryan Schlichte, Charlie Schwartz, Josh Athey and Nate Nelson.

Honorable mention went to West's Kevin Marzolf, Josh Wold, Connor Watts and Andrew Opsal.

From Mankato East, Nick Makovsky and Logan Swanson received all-conference honors, while teammate Nic Seiler received honorable mention.

Running back Aaron Peterson of Owatonna was named the offensive player of the year, while teammate Andrew Stelter was the lineman of the year. The coach of the year went to Owatonna's Jeff Williams.

— The Free Press

Text Only | Photo Reprints


Latest auto racing news
Featured Ads
Shane Frederick's Twitter updates
Chad Courrier's Sports Report
Latest NCAA basketball news
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
Donnie Tyndall Named Tennessee Head Coach Pineda: Put pine tar because he didn't want to hit anyone Farrell on Pineda: 'When it's that obvious, something has to be said' Wrigley Field celebrates 100th birthday Phelps returns to the pool Tour Confidential: What Impact Will Tiger's Absence Have on Golf? Pujols joins 500 club Wall: 'This was a make or break year for me' Klatt's Mock Draft: Top 10 Klatt's Mock Draft: Late 1st round Marcus Spears: Cowboys Needs on Draft Day Could Bridgewater Make Scouts Look Foolish? NFL Draft: Will Manziel Be Off The Board By Pick No. 4? Manchester Utd sack manager David Moyes Race to avoid Premier League relegation heats up The many faces of Mike Woodson Draft Preview: Ego Ferguson Chelsea, Atletico set to do battle in Champions League With The Twelfth Pick, The New York Giants Select... Rosenthal: Trout's contract was a compromise