The Free Press, Mankato, MN

November 7, 2013

Weber heads Big 9 football awards

The Mankato Free Press

---- — MANKATO — Mankato West senior linebacker Isaac Weber has been named the Big Nine Conference's defensive player of the year, as league awards were announced Wednesday.

Joining Weber on the all-conference list were teammates Will Claussen, Jake Russell, Cory Johnson, Ryan Schlichte, Charlie Schwartz, Josh Athey and Nate Nelson.

Honorable mention went to West's Kevin Marzolf, Josh Wold, Connor Watts and Andrew Opsal.

From Mankato East, Nick Makovsky and Logan Swanson received all-conference honors, while teammate Nic Seiler received honorable mention.

Running back Aaron Peterson of Owatonna was named the offensive player of the year, while teammate Andrew Stelter was the lineman of the year. The coach of the year went to Owatonna's Jeff Williams.

— The Free Press