The Free Press, Mankato, MN

August 26, 2011

Ferris State joins WCHA

The Free Press

MANKATO — Universities in the Central Collegiate Hockey Association are moving quickly to accept the Western Collegiate Hockey Association’s invitation to join the league in 2013.

On Friday, Ferris State became the third program to announce that it is joining the WCHA.

On Thursday, the day the WCHA announced its invitation, Alaska (Fairbanks) and Lake Superior State said they would be joining the league.

As it stands, the WCHA will have nine teams during the 2013-14 season. Besides the three newcomers, the league will have Minnesota State, St. Cloud State, Bemidji State, Alaska-Anchorage, Michigan Tech and Northern Michigan.

That same year, 12 teams from the WCHA and CCHA will leave those conferences for the Big Ten and the National Collegiate Hockey Conference.

CCHA members Western Michigan and Bowling Green also have been extended invitations to the WCHA but neither has made a decision. They were given 30 days to make a decision.