Deaths rates from COVID-19 among vaccinated versus unvaccinated Minnesotans

Unvaccinated Minnesotans are dying from COVID-19 at much higher rates than vaccinated residents, according to data from the Minnesota Department of Health.

The Free Press

MANKATO — The Minnesota Department of Health confirmed a COVID-19 death Tuesday in Watonwan County, bringing the nine-county region’s November death toll from the illness to 17.

The resident was between 90-94 years old, according to the health department. Watonwan County has had 16 confirmed COVID-19 deaths during the pandemic.

The death was among 20 statewide Tuesday, bringing Minnesota’s pandemic death toll to 8,882.

South-central Minnesota’s nine counties have combined for 338 deaths from COVID-19 during the pandemic. Of the 338, about 17% have been confirmed over the last 40 days.

October was the second most deadly COVID-19 month for the nine-county region during the pandemic with 42 deaths. November’s 17 through nine days put it on pace to be worse.

Data continue to show unvaccinated Minnesotans are dying from COVID-19 at much higher rates than vaccinated residents. The death rate among vaccinated residents has remained about flat since May, while spiking among unvaccinated residents since July.

Area counties also combined for 272 newly confirmed cases Tuesday. It was a decrease from the 317 new cases one week ago, although the health department noted there are statewide cases still waiting to be processed from the weekend.

“Over the past weekend COVID-19 case growth exceeded intake capacity, resulting in a temporary backlog,” the health department stated Tuesday. “We are taking steps to increase staff capacity, but we anticipate this backlog will impact newly reported cases for the next few days.”

Blue Earth County’s 92 new cases were the most in the region. All nine counties had at least six new cases.

The full list of new cases confirmed by county Tuesday includes:

• Blue Earth County — 92

• Nicollet County — 44

• Le Sueur County — 34

• Brown County — 34

• Waseca County — 20

• Faribault County — 18

• Sibley County — 12

• Martin County — 12

• Watonwan County — 6

{em style=”font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 16px;”}Follow Brian Arola @BrianArola{/em}

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you