University of Wisconsin-Stout

Students from the area are recipients of Chancellor’s Awards in recognition of their academic achievements during the spring term at the University of Wisconsin-Stout in Menomonie.

The award is presented to students who have grade-point averages of 3.5 or above.

Blue Earth — Michael Ankeny

Le Sueur — Evan Eibs

Mankato — Samantha Bibbs, Anna Distad, Ty Kolb, Katelyn Kruger

Montgomery — Niklas Arguedas, Taylor Jackson

The following area residents graduated in May from the University of Wisconsin-Stout:

Blue Earth — Michael Ankeny, bachelor of science in construction

Eagle Lake — Libby Andrego, bachelor of fine arts in graphic design and interactive media, Emily Onken, education specialist in school psychology

Lafayette — Meridith Hartley, BS, hotel restaurant and tourism

Le Sueur — Emily Eibs, BFA, graphic design and interactive media

New Ulm — Lydia Schoof, BS in dietetics

North Mankato — Derek Doescher, BS in technology education

Wells — Linsey Thisius, BFA in interior design

Rochester Community and Technical College

Area residents are spring semester graduates of Rochester Community and Technical College.

The college’s 103rd commencement ceremony was May 16. Local graduates are:

Blue Earth — Lisa Gauna, associate of applied science, health information technology

Eagle Lake — Marilynn Chatleain, community health worker certificate; Chase Dagan, associate of science degree, law enforcement

Le Center — PenniJo Brenke, AS, web design, honors

Daughters of American Revolution

Local members attended the Daughters of the American Revolution state conference in May at St. Cloud.

Delegates from Minnesota’s 22 DAR chapters elected an 11-member board. Anthony Wayne Chapter member Susan Jirele, of Mankato, will serve as historian.

Rotary Club

The Rotary Club of Greater Mankato recently selected its 2019 Speech and Debate scholarship recipients from Mankato schools.

Each student will receive a $300 scholarship.

Recipients include Mankato East High School students Awallei Okuch, Ladna Abader and Alex Sandquist; Mankato West High School students Julia Choe, Tyler Qualley and Sesamae Glackler-Riquelme; and Loyola High School students Brayton Matuska, Sara Gartner and Nic Goebel.

Some of the recipients were presenters during a May 22 forensics luncheon in Mankato. Since 1960, the Rotary Club of Greater Mankato has honored high school students who excel in debate and speech activities.

React to this story:

React to this story:


Recommended for you