Le Sueur poster winners

Sheriff Brett Mason recently presented awards to area eighth-grade students who participated in a slogan/art contest about distracted driving. Photo courtesy Le Sueur County Sheriff Department

Distracted Driving art contest

Le Sueur County Sheriff Brett Mason presented awards April 27 to 12 eighth-grade students who attend Cleveland, Le Sueur, Most Holy Redeemer, St. Wenceslaus and Waterville-Elysian-Morristown schools.

The students participated in a Distracted Driving slogan/art contest that was put on by the Le Sueur County Sheriff’s Office, Sheriff’s Youth Project of Le Sueur County, Judge Mark Vandelist, Le Sueur

County Victim Witness and Minnesotans for Safe Driving to help raise awareness concerning distracted driving.

The winners are Meghan Callahan, Elizabeth Odenthal, Steven Odenthal, Amelia Tauer, Jersie Kelley, Stephanie Lopez-Gonzalez, Jenae Androli, Gabe Roberts, Khia Hicks, McKinlee Cherp, Paul Dudley and Elena Salamakhina.

Their artwork will be displays at various businesses in Le Sueur County.

Schmidt Vocal Competition

Mankato East High School senior Lauren Senden, of North Mankato, recently brought home first-prize honors from the Schmidt Vocal Competition.

The April 27 competition at the University of Minnesota is for sophomore, junior and senior high school singers Senden was awarded $2,500 for her performance of “L’été” by Cécile Chaminade.

The Schmidt Vocal Competition offers awards, scholarship and educational experiences for more than 150 students annually. Competitions take place in 16 locations throughout the U.S. in partnership with regional colleges and universities.

Competitors perform in front of a live audience in two rounds and participate in educational master classes with professionals between the preliminary and final rounds.

Award of Harmony

Mankato Riverblenders Barbershop Chorus bestowed its annual Award of Harmony during its recent annual spring show.

Robin Hughes is the 2019 recipient of the award that recognizes a greater Mankato area resident who’s created harmony in the community.

Hughes is a music teacher and choir director. She is Mankato East High School’s director of choral activities and vocal director for musical productions.

Winona State University

Students from the area will be among the honorees Thursday during Winona State University’s Spring Evening of Distinction ceremony.

The event will recognize graduating members of the Class of 2019 that were selected by faculty in their respective majors as outstanding students.

WSU’s College of Business selected Bethany Seifer of Sleepy Eye, who is majoring in human resource management; The College of Science and Engineering selected Austin Ellingworth of North Mankato, who is majoring in statistics.

Morningside College

Area students were among students recognized during the recent Omicron Delta Kappa Honors Convocation at Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa.

Anna Uehling of Nicollet received the Outstanding Art Award for the sophomore class. Emily Stiernagle of

Waterville received the Technical Theatre Award from the performing arts department.

ODK is a national leadership honor society that recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character.

React to this story:

React to this story:


Recommended for you