Debate team 2018

Several members of the Mankato East/West Debate Team competed in its opening meet Sept. 29. Pictured are: front row — Coach Matt Moore, Ryan Berlin, Serenity Zwaschka, Madeline Wilcox and Alanna Slocum; back row — Seth Stevens, Alex Sandquist, Malachy Bloom, Gavin Davis, Jaden Hague and Coach Melanie Schmidt. Photo courtesy Melanie Schmidt

East/West Debate Team

Mankato East/West Debate Team traveled to Eastview High School in Apple Valley Sept. 29 for its opening meet of the season.

Mankato’s varsity team — Malachy Bloom and Gavin Davis, both Mankato East High School students — finished the day with a winning 3-1 record and placing sixth overall.

Mankato’s novice team — Ryan Berlin of Mankato West High School and Seth Stevens of Mankato East High School — finished their first competition with a winning 3-1 record.

UW-La Crosse

The following area students completed degree requirements at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse in May: Josiah Breiter of Mapleton, bachelor of science, middle childhood through early adolescence education; Clare Scott of North Mankato, BS in finance; and Aaron Stark of St. James, BS, information systems.


Two area residents participated in the 103rd annual commencement ceremony at the College of Saint Benedict May 12 at the Clemens Field House on the CSB campus in St.


The area graduates are Veronica Sinell of Le Sueur, bachelor of arts in psychology; and Kelly Headington of Mankato, BA in elementary education.

Headington also earning honors of summa cum laude, which signifies a minimum GPA of 3.90.

University of Dubuque

Ellie Schneider of New Ulm was appointed to the spring semester academic dean’s list for the University of Dubuque in Iowa.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must earn a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale for that semester.

UW-Eau Claire

Area residents were among students at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire awarded degrees in May. Local students who received degrees and their fields of study are: Jessica Sheldon of North Mankato, master of science, communication sciences and disorders; Michael Berry of St. Clair, bachelor of science, nursing; Andee Erickson of Waseca, bachelor of arts, journalism and geography.

University of Iowa

The University of Iowa-Iowa City has announced its spring dean’s list.

Students from the area who received the academic honor are: Matthew Naples of Mankato and Konnor Harris of Waseca.

University of Iowa

Area residents are among the spring graduates at the University of Iowa in Iowa City.

The area graduates are: Jeremiah Fettig of Kasota, master of science in urban and regional planning; Matthew Traxler of Le Sueur, medical doctorate in medicine; Cameron Clause of Mankato, doctorate in dentistry; Rachel Anderson of St. Peter, Phd, psychology; Konnor Harris of

Waseca, bachelor of science in radiation sciences, with distinction; Haley Jensen of Welcome, a BA-health and human physiology.

React to this story:

React to this story: