PEO logo


The local chapters of an international women’s organization (P.E.O.) recently received notice that scholarships were awarded to two women who the chapter sponsored.

Lauren Senden of North Mankato, a graduating senior, who received a $2,500 Star Scholarship.

Libby Ives, of Milwaukee, received a $15,000 Scholar Award.

Marquette University

Katrina Reeder, of Montgomery, has been named to the Dean’s List for the spring semester at Marquette University in Milwaukee.

Marquette University is a Catholic, Jesuit university.

University of Wisconsin-Superior

Emily Carpenter, of St. Peter, was named to the dean’s list for academic achievement during the spring semester.

To be named to the dean’s list, students must have completed 12 degreeseeking semester credits and achieved at least a 3.50 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale.

Iowa State University

Area residents were among the graduates during four spring commencement ceremonies in May at Iowa State University in Ames.

Graduates from the area are:

Lake Crystal — Mark Jacobs, bachelor of science, agricultural engineering, magna cum laude.

Mankato — Benjamin Distad, BS, mechanical engineering.

Mapleton — Tyler Olson, master of science, biomedical sciences.

North Mankato — Adam Cahalan, BS, industrial engineering, cum laude; Sean Gullickson, BS, kinesiology and health, cum laude.

Springfield — Timothy Dalsgaard, MS, horticulture.

Waseca — Matthew Wendland, BS, mechanical engineering, magna cum laude.

Wells — Amber Klein, bachelor of arts, communication studies, magna cum laude; Timothy Klein, business analytics; Riley Kloos, BS, civil engineering.

Habitat for Humanity

Habitat for Humanity of South Central Minnesota raised more than $27,000 during its inaugural Hard Hat Breakfast fundraiser.

More than 150 people attended the morning event that featured a breakfast buffet, harp music and presentations.

Habitat for Humanity is a nonprofit, ecumenical Christian ministry founded on the conviction that every man, woman and child should have a decent, safe and affordable place to live.

University of Sioux Falls

The University of Sioux Falls in South Dakota has released its dean’s list for spring semester.

To qualify for the academic honor, a student must achieve a semester grade-point average of 3.5 or greater on a 4.0 scale.

The following local students were named to the list:

Cleveland — Krista Goerger.

Mankato — Mackenzie Miller, Abby Mullin.

North Mankato — Charlotte Lena.


React to this story:

React to this story: