Gustavus Adolphus College

The fall semester dean’s list for Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter has been released.

The list comprises students who have earned 3.7 grade-point averages or higher for the semester ending in December.

The following local students were named to the list:

Blue Earth — Madeline McCleary, Caitlin Rorman.

Cleveland — Theodore Johnson.

Easton — Macie Stevermer.

Elysian — Isabella Klabough.

Janesville — Austin Witt.

Lake Crystal — Landon Lantz, Lauren Paulsen.

Le Center — Dalton Hoffman, Anya Menk, Keeley Oak, Hugo Ruiz.

Le Sueur — Lauren Gregersen, Kathleen O’Brien, Xeanna Willaert.

Madison Lake — Nickolas Douglas, Elsie Emich, Cheyenne Kunkel, Lucas Mueller, Jacey Welp.

Mankato — Jaeden Kenward, Abigail Mattson, Olin Mattson, Cyemone Nusser, Rebecca Radzak, Keely Schuck, Nathan Scruggs, Peter Snyder.

Mapleton — Noah Decker.

New Richland — Alexandra Combs, Kourtney Kulseth, Betsy Schoenrock, Madison Wagner, Marnie Wagner.

New Ulm — Connor Gag, Brianna Kauffmann, Hannah Kennedy, Jordan Petersen.

Nicollet — Isabella Aase.

North Mankato — Owen Casteel, Tiffani DeWitte, Oliviah Dmytrasz, Sydney Douglas, Grant Hanson, Claire Hemstock, Benjamin Kies, Madelyn Mueller, Kira Sims.

St. James — Gustavo Martinez, Jackson Miest, Mackinzee Miest.

St. Peter — Lillian Anderson, Kaitlyn Brey, Josephine Carlson, Liam Dahlseid, Wyatt Gillette, Ahmed Habib, Zoe Haugen, Signe Jeremiason, Caitlin Juell, Michael King, Isabelle Lind, McKenna Reese, Parker Sisler, Jacob Stoffel, Amelia Wernsing, Sienna Wiebusch, Gracie Willaert, MacKenna Zelenka.

Sleepy Eye — Nathan Schroepfer, Alexa Steffl, Alex Woitas.

Springfield — Michael Gluth, Sydney Hauger.

Vernon Center — Samuel Bennett.

Waseca — Breanna Conway.

Loyola Speech results

Loyola High School’s speech team placed third out of 21 teams in a virtual competition March 20 sponsored by Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton School.

Team members who placed are:

Rachel Kohlmeyer, first place, prose; Sadie Blace, second place, discussion; Collin Kirschner, second place, humor; Teya Waagner, second place, novice, extemporaneous reading; Duram Kelly, third place, creative expression; Rosie Sullivan, third place, novice, extemporaneous reading; Molly Koester, fourth place, extemporaneous reading; Addy Fraze, fifth place, Great Speeches; Abby Moses, sixth, informative.

MAPS speech results

Several Mankato Area Public Schools students earned awards at recent virtual speech tournaments.

The following Mankato East speech team members placed in the Big 9 Speech Tournament March 17:

Claire Burman, first place, extemporaneous reading; Grace Guestchow, second, drama; Naomi DeRosier, third, drama; Gavin Davis, third place, extemporaneous speaking; Olivia Moeller, third place, storytelling; Jayne Satre, fourth place, drama; Jackie Quach, fifth place, extemporaneous reading; and Kate Laven, fifth place, storytelling.

The following Mankato East students earned awards at the Northfield Raiders Speech Invitational March 20:

Olivia Moeller — first place (next-in), storytelling; Jackie Quach, third place (next-in), extemporaneous reading; Jayne Satre, fourth place, drama; Kate Laven, sixth place, storytelling.

The following Mankato East students earned awards at the Fairmont Finale speech tournament March 27: Gavin Davis, first place, extemporaneous speaking; Bryn Ashland, second place, original oratory; Naomi DeRosier, second place, drama; Jackie Quach, second place, extemporaneous reading; Seth Possin, third place, informational; Tufah Dahir, fourth place (varsity), original oratory; Max Fuller, fourth place (novice), original oratory; Jayne Satre, fourth place (varsity), drama; and Kalan Kenward, fifth place (varsity), humorous.

• Mankato West Speech team members competed in the Big 9 Speech Conference Meet March 16 at Red Wing:

Conference champion Klara Lybeck received first-place honors in the humorous category; Brennan Houlihan — fifth place, discussion; Emma Steffen — third place, discussion; Thomas Kane — extemporaneous speaking, fifth place; Hazel Tweten — sixth place, informative.

The following West students competed in the JWP Bulldog Invitational March 20:

Emma Steffans — first place, discussion; Vincent Benzmiller — third place, discussion; Klara Lybeck — fourth place, humorous; Brennan Houlihan — fifth place, discussion; Desiree Maloney — fifth, humorous; Thomas Kane — fifth place, extemporaneous speaking; Hazel Tweten — fifth place, informative; Ryan Berlin — sixth, original oratory.

Concordia College

Concordia College in Moorhead announced the names of students placed on the dean’s honor list for the first semester.

To qualify for this designation, students must carry a minimum of 12 semester credits and have grade-point averages of at least a 3.7 on a 4.0 scale.

Area residents on the list include:

Belle Plaine — Allison Hennes.

Blue Earth — Gunnar Fering.

Mankato — Grace Henry.

New Ulm — Abbey Frauenholtz.

St. Peter — Elijah Hunt, Xenia Loredo-Hollon.

Waseca — Autum Broughten.

Brown County Historical Society

A Minnesota Historical and Cultural Heritage grant for $8,982 recently was awarded to Brown County Historical Society in New Ulm. The funds will be used to inventory, catalog and photograph objects housed in the Brown County Museum’s artifact storage spaces.

This project is the second phase of a five-year comprehensive inventory of the 16,000 artifacts in BCHS’ artifact collection.

FFA Hall of Fame

Two area residents have been named to the Minnesota FFA Alumni Association and Foundation’s Hall of Fame.

Michael Dove, of New Ulm, and Mary Hoffmann, of Sleepy Eye, were recognized for their contributions and service to agriculture/agribusiness, to education in agriculture and to FFA.

Dove and Hoffmann were among nine 2021 inductees introduced March 6 during the organization’s annual meeting.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you